RSS
Follow by Email
Facebook
Facebook
Google+
Google+
http://realcombatmedia.com/2016/07/crash-ko-king-rosa-vs-hinojosa-ends-one-round-head-butt-no-contest/
SHARE
YouTube
Pinterest
Pinterest
LinkedIn
Instagram

KO King Rosa

Crash! KO King Rosa vs. Hinojosa Ends in One Round Head Butt No Contest

By Robert Brizel, Head Real Combat Media Boxing Correspondent

 

Mashantucket, Connecticut (July 1, 2016)– In the main event of a five bout DiBella Entertainment boxing card at Foxwoods Resort in Mashantucket, Connecticut, on Thursday, June 30, 2016, super bantamweight contender Luis ‘KO King’ Rosa fought to a one round No Contest with former world title challenger Luis Hinojosa after a head butt at the bell caused a cut over the right eye of Hinojosa rendering him unable to continue. All five bouts on the DiBella card were stopped by the referee within four rounds, a quick night.

 

Rosa, 22-0 with 10 knockouts, New Haven, Connecticut by way of Caguas, Puerto Rico, and Hinojosa, 28-9 with 17 knockouts, Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic, started with Rosa landing crisp combinations and body shots. Rosa promised to end the night early, as had occurred in the previous four bouts of the evening. The trouble came exactly at the bell ending round one, when the referee ruled an accidental head butt by Rosa caused a cut over the right eye of Hinojosa. The referee called for the ringside physician, who rendered Hinojosa unable to continue, ending the brief bout. Rosa, in disagreement, felt a punch caused the damage, not a head butt.

 

Rosa, ranked tenth in the world by the World Boxing Council and twelfth in the world by the International Boxing Federation, is on the verge of a world title shot. He will have to wait a little longer to get it.

 

For purposes of clarity, and to avoid statistical confusion, Hinojosa won an eight round decision over a different ‘Luis Rosa’ in his previous bout in September 2015 in the Dominican Republic, who he also stopped in November 2014. The ‘other’ Luis Rosa is known as Luis ‘Titi’ Rosa and has a career record of 7-6 and hails from San Francisco De Macoris, Dominican Republic. The clarification is necessary, as Hinojosa’s record shows he has fought ‘Luis Rosa’ three times, including in his previous bout. Luis ‘Titi’ Rosa is NOT the Luis ‘KO King’ Rosa Hinojosa fought at Foxwoods. While not a common occurrence, some professional boxers do have the same or similar name of other boxers and athletes.

 

Result: Luis ‘KO King’ Rosa No Contest 1 Luis Hinojosa, Super Bantamweights (3:00)

Accidental head butt by Rosa at end of round one causes cut to right eye of Hinojosa.

Ringside physician stops contest between rounds. Hinojosa ruled unable to continue.

 

Undercard Bout Results at Foxwoods

 

Jennifer Salinas TKO 4 Angel Gladney, Female Super Lightweights (1:51)

 

Charles Foster TKO 2 Willie Williams, Light Heavyweights (2:01)

 

Mykquan Williams TKO 2 Abdel Vera, Welterweights (1:33)

 

Irvin Gonzalez (Pro Debut) TKO 1 Gilvan Santos (1:22)

Share

COMMENTS

COMMENTS

@REALCOMBATMEDIA - Editorial Staff
Editor in Chief
We are the Editorial staff for the top independent international boxing and mma online publication since 2012. Follow us on Instagram, Twitter and Facebook @realcombatmedia. For breaking news reports, contact us at news@realcombatmedia.com and for advertising or publicity service inquiries, email us at publicity@realcombatmedia.com.