Rigondeaux-Flores Declared No Decision, Kathy Duva Files NSAC Appeal for Kovalev-Ward

By Robert Brizel, Head Real Combat Media Boxing Correspondent

 

Las Vegas, NV (June 20th, 2017)– In an ongoing controversy, the Nevada State Athletic Commission has declared a No Decision in Moises Flores versus Guillermo Rigondeaux, enabling Rigondeaux to retain his World Boxing Association Super World Super Bantamweight title on Saturday, June 18, 2017, at Mandalay Bay Hotel & Casino Eventers Center in Las Vegas, Nevada, televised on HBO Pay-Per-View.

 

Rigondeaux versus Flores, Facts of the Case

 

Rigondeaux held Flores behind the head and hit him in the head with the other hand three times. Referee Vic Drakulich moved in to separate the two combatants, and presumably either warn Rigeondeaux and take a point away. Rigondeaux threw a punch after the bell which apparently knocked out Flores, who did not get up. Drakulich (after a five minute discussion with ringside officials), declared Rigondeaux the winner by knockout, stating the punch landed at the bell and was a legal blow. On appeal, the Nevada state Athletic Commission disagreed.

 

Critical Facts, Brizel Interpretation

 

After the fouls, the referee must stop the action, and award Flores one point. Drakulich moved in to do so, interfering with Flores vision and ability to defend himself. Rigondeaux, either intentionally or accidentally, had a punch in progress. The punch was thrown after the bell. Judge unintentional blow. Rigondeaux cannot win on a punch after the bell. No Contest resulted. In addition, Drakulich stood over Flores and asked him if he was getting up, but never gave him the required ten count, triggering a No Contest for different reasons as well. Conscious or not, play acting or not, Flores is automatically entitled to the ten count. Rigondeaux cannot also win on a punch following a blatant foul which could have disoriented or injured the other boxer.

 

Main Events CEO and Promoter Kathy Duva Files NSAC Appeal for Sergey Kovalev

 

On at least one occasion, Andre Ward, defending the recognized World Light Heavyweight title, scored a low blow on Sergey Kovalev. Referee Tony Weeks issued no warning. Ward did not take advantage, and the action resumed. In the eighth round, Andre Ward landed a low blow, followed by two borderline low blows, sending Kovalev sagging through the ropes. Weeks stopped the contest and awarded Ward a TKO 8 victory. Kovalev stated after the bout he was able to continue, but was not given the opportunity to do so after Ward’s low blow foul. Main Events CEO and promoter Kathy Duva has filed an appeal of the outcome of Andre Ward versus Sergey Kovalev 2 with the Nevada State Athletic Commission.

 

Critical Facts, Brizel Interpretation

 

On landing of a low blow, the referee should issue a warning the first time, then take a point away the second time. No warning was issued on the first offense by Ward. Upon getting Kovalev on the ropes, Ward landed a clear low blow foul. The referee needed to stop the action and issue Ward a warning or take a point away, and give Kovalev recovery time. Ward followed with two borderline low blows. Since the bout cannot end when a blatant foul occurs, Kovalev versus Ward II should be declared a No Contest by the NSAC.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Share

COMMENTS

COMMENTS

Robert Brizel - Head Boxing Correspondent
Robert Brizel - Head Boxing Correspondent
Robert is the Head Boxing Correspondent for Real Combat Media Boxing since 2013. Robert is also a photographer and ringside reporter for the RCM Tri State region which includes NJ, NY and PA. Robert conducts exclusive interviews, provides historical boxing articles and provides editorial ringside coverage of major boxing events. You can contact or follow Robert on Facebook and by email at robertbrizel@realcombatmedia.com.